Contact us details

The English School

By Email
      info@englishschool.ac.cy

 By Telephone:
      +357 22 799 300

 By Fax:
      +357 22 799 301

 By Post:
      P.O. Box 23575,
      1684 Nicosia,
      Cyprus

 Working Hours
     07:30 - 14:30
     Monday - Friday

Calendar 2018 - 2019

 Click on this link to view our events school calendar
 Click here to view the calendar in pdf format (please note that this might not always be up-to-date)

Main Term Dates

Autumn Term: 

  • New Students and Mid-Programme Entry Induction Day:  Monday, 10th September 2018.
  • Years 6 & 7 in school:  Tuesday, 11th September 2018.
  • Years 4 to 7 in school: Wednesday, 12th September 2018.
  • Years 1 to 7 in school: Thursday, 13th September 2018.
  • Half Term: Tuesday, 23rd October 2018 to Friday, 26th October 2018.
  • Term Ends:  Friday, 21st December 2018.
 
Spring Term: 
  • Term Starts: Tuesday, 8th January 2019.
  • Half Term: Monday, 25th February 2019 to Friday, 01st March 2019.
  • Term Ends: Friday, 19th April 2019.

Summer Term:
  • Term Starts: Monday, 6th May 2019.
  • Terms Ends: Friday, 21st June 2019.


Please note that it may be necessary to change the dates of some events in the light of developments through the year. Click on the link above to see more up-to-date information:


Autumn Term
 
Holiday / Activities / Events Day Date Month
CIE results released Tuesday 14 Aug
Public Holiday - Dormition of the Holy Virgin Wednesday 15 Aug
A Level Exam Results Thursday 16 Aug
I/GCSE Exam Results Thursday 23 Aug
Year 1 Boys - Jubilee Workshop Monday 3 Sep
Year 1 Girls - Jubilee Workshop Wednesday 5 Sep
Which Degree Fair  Wednesday 5 Sep
Year 2 Boys - Jubilee Workshop Saturday 8 Sep
New Students  Induction Day  Monday 10 Sep
Year 4 YELLIS tests & ID photos Monday 10 Sep
Start of Academic year for: Years 6 & 7 Tuesday 11 Sep
Start of Academic year for: Years 4 & 5, (Year 4-7 in school) Wednesday 12 Sep
Parents Information Evening Wednesday 12 Sep
Start of Academic year for: Years 1 to 3 (All students in school) Thursday 13 Sep
New students instrumental orientation period 5 and 6 Friday 14 Sep
Class Representative elections (Years 2-7) Friday 14 Sep
Year 2 Girls - Jubilee Workshop Saturday 15 Sep
Senior play auditions Saturday 15 Sep
Last day of EAR requests Monday 17 Sep
School Deadline for 'Early Deadline' UCAS applications Monday 17 Sep
New Parents Cocktail Thursday 20 Sep
Alumni Celebration Event (Provisional 1) Wednesday 26 Sep
Year 6 Parents Evening Friday 28 Sep
Public Holiday - Cyprus Independence Day Monday 1 Oct
Year 7 School Photos  Thursday 11 Oct
Talent Night auditions Saturday 13 Oct
Talent Night auditions Sunday 14 Oct
Years 1-4 School Class Photos Tuesday 16 Oct
Years 5-6 School Class Photos Wednesday 17 Oct
Year 1 Parents Afternoon Wednesday 17 Oct
Open Day Friday 19 Oct
BMAT & other University Admission exams Wednesday 31 Oct
Year 7 Parents Afternoon Wednesday 31 Oct
Alumni Celebration Event (Provisional date 2) Thursday 1 Nov
Year 6 Parents Afternoon Wednesday 7 Nov
Founder's Day Ceremony Thursday 8 Nov
Founder's Day 7-a-side Football & other Sports Events Friday 9 Nov
Founder's day Games Vs ESOBGA Sunday 11 Nov
External exam registrations open Monday 12 Nov
School Holiday - Archbishop's Name Day Tuesday 13 Nov
Year 4 Parents Afternoon Wednesday 14 Nov
Turkish Poetry Evening Friday 16 Nov
European Youth Parliament Internal General Assembly Saturday 17 Nov
Boys Inter-House Cross Country Competition Monday 19 Nov
Girls Inter-House Cross Country Competition Tuesday 20 Nov
Year 3 Parents Afternoon Wednesday 21 Nov
Talent Night Performance Thursday 22 Nov
Talent Night Performance Friday 23 Nov
External Exams registrations close Friday 23 Nov
MEDIMUN workshop Saturday 24 Nov
MEDIMUN workshop Sunday 25 Nov
Year 2 Parents Afternoon Wednesday 28 Nov
Year 3 Parents Options Evening Thursday 29 Nov
Salakian Hockey Trophy - 1st Round Saturday 1 Dec
Year 5 Parents Afternoon Wednesday 5 Dec
Year 5 Parents Options Evening Thursday 6 Dec
Turkish Play (Provisional) Friday 7 Dec
Unite Rock Concert (organised by: Turkish Department)  Saturday 8 Dec
Art Charity Event (auction) (Provisional) Wednesday 12 Dec
Junior Achievement Cyprus Internal Competition  Friday 14 Dec
Rehearsals for Christmas Concert Saturday 15 Dec
Rehearsals for Christmas Concert and Charity Yoga Event Sunday 16 Dec
Christmas Concert Monday 17 Dec
Christmas Concert Tuesday 18 Dec
Christmas Bazaar and End of Autumn Term Friday 21 Dec

 
Spring Term
 
Holiday / Activities / Events Day Date Month
Year 5 Mocks Monday - Friday 8th to 19th  Jan
Option system opens Monday 21 Jan
MIDYIS (Provisional) Thursday 24 Jan
School Holiday - The 3 Hierarchs Wednesday 30 Jan
Choir/Orchestra workshop Saturday 2 Feb
Choir/Orchestra workshop Sunday 3 Feb
MEDIMUN Conference Friday - Sunday 8th to 10th Feb
Salakian Hockey Trophy - 2nd Round Saturday 9 Feb
Option system closes Wednesday 13 Feb
Senior Play Thursday 14 Feb
Senior Play Friday 15 Feb
VEEMA Study/Revision Skills  Year 5, 6, 7 (Hall) Monday 18 Feb
VEEMA Study/Revision Skills Year 3 (Hall) Tuesday 19 Feb
Sports Day Wednesday 20 Feb
Year 4, 6, & 7 Mocks Monday - Friday 4th to 15th Mar
Public Holiday - Green Monday Monday 11 Mar
Junior Achievement "BBQ & Family Day" Saturday 16 Mar
Arts Week Monday - Friday 18th to 22nd Mar
Junior Play Monday 18 Mar
Junior Play Tuesday 19 Mar
Year 6 UCAS Presentation Tuesday 19 Mar
F1 in Schools National Finals (Set-up) Friday to Sunday 22nd to 24th  Mar
Public Holiday - Greek Independence Day PE Dept. Parade Monday 25 Mar
Public Holiday - Cyprus National Day Monday 1 Apr
Global Astronomy Month Monday to Tuesday 1st to 30th Apr
Head Boy and Head Girl Election week Monday to Thursday 8th to 11th Apr
Musical Vibes / Unite Concert - TBA Friday 12 Apr
George Hadjigeorgiou Memorial Event Wednesday 17 Apr
Provisional last day Years 5 Thursday 18 Apr
George Hadjigeorgiou Memorial Event Friday 19 Apr
Provisional last day Years 6-7.  Spring Term ends Friday 19 Apr
 
 
 
Summer Term
 
Holiday / Activities / Events Day Date Month
F1 in schools entry class finals  Friday 10 May
Provisional last day - Year 4 Friday 17 May
Year 4 EoY exams begin Wednesday 22 May
Provisional last day - Years 1-3 Friday 24 May
JA Award Ceremony Wednesday 29 May
Mid-Programme Entry Year 6 Interviews Friday 31 May
Mid-Programme Entry Exams Saturday 1 Jun
Art GCSE/A-level exhibition (Provisional) Monday 3 Jun
School Holiday - Apostolos Varnanvas Tuesday 11 Jun
Years 1-4 EoY exams end Thursday 13 Jun
Year 3 Dinner and Dance Friday 14 Jun
Public Holiday - Pentecost (Kataklysmos)  Monday 17 Jun
D&T GCSE, GCE Exhibition Tuesday 18 Jun
DofE Award Ceremony and D&T Lower School Exhibition Wednesday 19 Jun
Sports Award Ceremony Friday 21 Jun
Graduation Ceremony (Provisional) Thursday 27 Jun
Graduation Ceremony (Provisional) Friday 28 Jun
 

 

.
Follow on Social Media